Georgia Southern University

Georgia Southern University Admissions and School Information

The Georgia Southern University campus is located in Statesboro, Georgia, an hour's drive from Savannah. The university offers bachelor's, master's, and doctorate degrees in the fields of business, education, health, information technology, liberal arts and science.

About Georgia Southern University

Georgia Southern University, founded in 1906, is currently a member of the University System of Georgia. The institution enrolls approximately 18,000 students, 15,500 of which are undergraduate scholars. Over 90% of the student body is made up of in-state residents. Across its seven colleges, Georgia Southern University offers students 120 undergraduate and graduate degree programs.

Admissions and Enrollment Information

Students who wish to be admitted to Georgia Southern University must complete and submit an application form and pay an application fee electronically by credit card, or by mail with a check or money order or if a fee waiver is submitted. Additionally, students must submit official high school transcripts along with their most recent ACT or SAT scores. The school requires a composite ACT score of 21 or minimum SAT score of 1,000 and a high school GPA of at least 2.0 for a student to be considered for acceptance.

Schools and Colleges of Georgia Southern University

College of Business Administration

The College of Business Administration includes the university's accountancy; management, marketing and logistics; economic development ; finance and quantitative analysis and information systems departments. It currently offers students the option of eight undergraduate degree programs and three master's degree programs across these departments. The school enrolls approximately 3,300 undergraduates and 285 graduates.

College of Education

The College of Education was one of Georgia Southern University's first schools, founded in 1968. Departments in this school cover curriculum, foundations and reading; teaching and learning; and leadership, technology and human development. Of the main campus' students, the College of Education enrolls about 1,225 undergraduates and 1,350 graduates. The reason the college enrolls more graduates than undergraduates is because it offers nine master's degree programs and two doctorate programs while only offering four undergraduate programs.

Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies

The Jack N. Averitt College of Graduate Studies is the graduate college of Georgia Southern University, and was one of the first schools established at the university in 1968. It maintains and oversees the affairs of the university and its students who are enrolled in graduate programs in the other colleges. As such, it does not offer programs of its own, but works jointly with the other seven colleges.

College of Health and Human Sciences

The College of Health and Human Services was originally part of the College of Education, but in 1971 became its own college. It has undergone three name changes in its history, gaining and losing departments along the way. Currently, the school includes the health and kinesiology; nursing; and hospitality, tourism, family and consumer sciences departments. Across the three departments, the college offers 16 undergraduate degree programs, 12 master's programs and a single doctorate program.

College of Information Technology

Georgia Southern University's College of Information Technology is the university's second most recent college, being founded in 2003. Because it is fairly new, the college doesn't offer very many programs to its student base. The school has two undergraduate degree programs itself, and an additional undergraduate program offered with the College of Business Administration. It also offers a single master's degree program with the College of Science and Technology.

College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences

The College of Liberal Arts and Social Sciences, founded in 1968, was among the first three colleges established by Georgia Southern University. It is made up of ten of the university's departments, making it the university's largest college. Across the departments, the school offers students the option of just over 40 undergraduate degree programs, 10 master's degree programs, and a single doctorate program.

Allen E. Paulson College of Science and Technology

The Allen E. Paulson College of Science and Technology's eight departments offer the college's 2,200 students the option of an undergraduate degree program with specialization in the department's field. The school also offers students a Master of Science and Master of Technology program.

Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health

The Jiann-Ping Hsu College of Public Health has its roots in Georgia Southern University's College of Health and Human Services, where its curriculum was being taught in 1998. The University System of Georgia established the College of Public Health in 2004 as its own entity in all of the schools it oversees. This school offers students no undergraduate degree programs. It only offers two master's degree programs and a single doctorate to those who enroll.

Contact Information

  • Address: Hwy 301 South, Statesboro, GA 30460
  • Phone Number: (912) 478-5391