The University of Montana

The University of Montana Admissions and School Information

The University of Montana, located in Missoula, Montana, lies at the base of Mount Sentinal. Students can earn a number of associate's, bachelor's, master's and doctorate degrees and professional certificates.

About the University of Montana

The University of Montana is located in western Montana, not far from the Idaho border, in the city of Missoula. This school enrolls more than 14,200 students and the most popular programs include marketing and management, communication and journalism, natural resources, conservation, the social sciences and business.

The University of Montana also offers enrichment programs in the forms of an honors college, internships, study abroad programs and research programs. This public school has been one of the best 4-year universities by The Princeton Review in 2009 and produces more Udall scholars than any other school in the country.

Admissions and Enrollment Information

The University of Montana has rolling admissions, meaning there is no deadline to apply. There is, however, a scholarship deadline that changes each semester and should be noted for students pursuing scholarships. Required admission materials include a completed application, ACT or SAT scores, and the application fee. After submission, the admissions committee typically reaches a decision within 2-3 weeks. Prospective graduate students should research their respective programs because each has different deadlines and requirements.

University of Montana Colleges

College of Arts & Sciences

There are 23 departments and programs in the humanities at the University of Montana receiving a base budget of $18 million (35% of the university's total academic budget) and $24 million in extramural funding. The College of Arts and Sciences emphasizes interdisciplinary learning and offers research opportunities at all levels.

College of Education & Human Services

Since 1917, the College of Education and Human Services has focused on training professionals concerned with education and human potential. It consists of five departments, including Department of Counselor Education and the Department of Educational Leadership.

College of Forestry & Conservation

Founded in 1913, the University of Montana's College of Forestry and Conservation was one of the first programs to gain accreditation from the Society of American Foresters. The school's three departments are ecosystem and conservation sciences, society and conservation, and forest management.

College of Health Professionals & Biomedical Sciences

The School of Pharmacy, School of Social Work, School of Community Health Sciences and School of Physical Therapy are found within this college. Students can earn a variety of bachelor's, master's and doctorate degrees, including the Doctor of Pharmacy degree, which prepares students for the workplace in six years.

College of Technology

The College of Technology consists of 35 programs that focus on technical and occupational education. There are several departments in the college, including applied computing and electronics, business technology, health professions and industrial technology. The college's principle focus is on 2-year occupational degrees and certificates.

School of Businesses Administration

Founded in 1946, the School of Businesses Administration aims for a comfortable, relaxed learning environment instead of a competitive one. Business students study in a state-of-the-art facility that encourages technology in the classroom, including outlets for personal laptops for research and notes. A hands-on, results-oriented approach can be seen in many of the school's classes. For example, students studying information systems created the school's website using software such as Macromedia Flash, Adobe Photoshop and Macromedia Dreamweaver.

School of Law

The School of Law only enrolls about 85 students per year. Students who are accepted typically share the common desire to learn hands on. As a result, learning often takes place outside of the classroom, where students work closely with faculty on various projects, and legal theory is integrated with practical experience. Students can expect to take part in real-world legal practices, like drafting contracts, creating companies, counseling clients and arguing cases before a jury.

School of Journalism

Students of the School of Journalism study in one of five areas, including reporting, writing for print, broadcast reporting, photojournalism or radio-television. All faculty at this school have at least ten years of journalism experience and most still work in newsrooms. The T. Anthony Pollner fellowship brings in a notable journalist each year to mentor students.

College for Visual & Performing Arts

The College of Performing Arts is home to the Montana Museum of Art & Culture, Gallery of Visual Arts and UC Gallery. The galleries showcase visiting artists, as well as University of Montana students and faculty. The college also features the Creative Pulse, an interdisciplinary summer program for master's students in integrated arts and education.

Graduate School

The Graduate School is the administrative center for all of the University of Montana's graduate programs. Prospective students should consult both the graduate school admissions procedures as well as those of their chosen school when applying.

College of Continuing Education

The College of Continuing Education has been around for nearly 100 years and serves adults who wish to pursue further education. Summer sessions, winter sessions, extended classes and online courses are available.

Contact Information

  • Address: 32 Campus Drive, Missoula, MT 59812
  • Phone Number: (406) 243-0211