University of Louisiana

University of Louisiana Admissions and General School Information

The University of Louisiana's main campus is located in Lafayette, Louisiana, with seven other campuses located across the state. This university offers degree programs in liberal arts, engineering, nursing, education and science.

General Information About The University of Louisiana

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette sits on approximately 1,400 acres, which includes campus buildings, a research park and the Cajundome athletic complex. Nearly 18,000 students attended the university in 2008, with over 704 international students helping to create a diverse environment.

Students can pursue 78 different bachelor's degree programs and 27 different master's degree programs. Eight doctoral programs area also offered, including biology, cognitive science, English and computer engineering.

Admissions and Enrollment Information

The University of Louisiana at Lafayette offers two options for admissions. Qualifying students are automatically guaranteed admission to the university. Requirements focus mainly on high school GPA, class rank, SAT and ACT scores. Applicants' high school transcripts must also meet criteria outlined by the Louisiana Board of Regents. Students that fail to meet these requirements are still considered in what is called an Admission by Committee. These applicants are required to include a letter describing their goals and life experiences along with the application requirements.

Colleges of the University of Louisiana

College of the Arts

The College of the Arts at Lafayette is divided into four different departments, including architecture and design, performing and visual arts, and music. Several different bachelor's degree programs are available through the College of the Arts, such as a Bachelor of Architecture, Bachelor of Industrial Design or Bachelor of Fine Arts. At the graduate level, a Master of Architecture is also offered. The University of Louisiana also offers the state's only 4-year degree program in industrial design.

College of Business Administration

Founded in 1952 as the College of Commerce, the College of Business Administration was renamed in 1980 as the B.I. Moody III College of Business Administration. The college is comprised of five different units, which offer a variety of degree programs at both the undergraduate and graduate level. Currently, more than 3,000 students attend this business college, taking part in international studies, internships and service-learning opportunities. A Bachelor of Science in Business Administration program is available in eight areas of study relating to business, such as accounting, business systems, economics and marketing. A Master of Business Administration is also offered, which allows for a concentration in health care administration.

College of Education

The College of Education at the University of Louisiana offers more than 20 bachelor's degree programs and six graduate degree programs. Undergraduate degree options include a Bachelor of Arts in early childhood education or elementary education and a Bachelor of Science in secondary education, kinesiology or special education. Master's degree programs are available in administration and supervision, curriculum and instruction and educational leadership. At the doctoral level, students can also pursue a Doctor of Education in Educational Leadership.

College of Engineering

Nationally accredited programs are offered through the College of Engineering at the University of Louisiana, which prepare students for careers in wide range of engineering fields, such as electrical, civil and mechanical engineering. Bachelor's degree programs include computer engineering, electrical engineering and civil engineering. Master's degree programs area also available in civil engineering and telecommunications. Graduates of the college of engineering are employed in the engineering industry or within government agencies.

College of Liberal Arts

The College of Liberal Arts provides undergraduate degree programs in communication, humanities and behavioral sciences, including anthropology, political science, public relations and modern languages. At the graduate level, students can obtain a master's in counselor education, history, psychology and speech pathology and audiology. Doctoral programs in francophone studies and applied language and speech sciences are also available.

College of Nursing and Allied Health Professions

In 2009, the College of Nursing and Allied Health Professions was named the Nightingale Nursing School of the Year by the Louisiana State Nurses Association and the Louisiana Nurses Foundation. Founded in 1951, this college prepares graduates for careers in nursing, dietetics and dental hygiene and strives to produce graduates that meet the needs of all health care consumers. Students can pursue several undergraduate degrees, including a Bachelor of Science in Nursing, a Bachelor of Science in Dental Hygiene and a Bachelor of Science in Dietetics. A Master of Science in Nursing is also offered, as well as an undergraduate program called Mobility In Nursing Education, designed specifically for RNs and LPNs.

College of Sciences

The Ray P. Authement College of Sciences serves nearly 2,000 students. The college is comprised of ten different academic departments, including biology, physics and renewable resources. Eight different bachelor's degree programs are offered through the College of Sciences, including biology, computer science, geology and mathematics. Five master's degree programs and four doctoral degree programs are also available. The University of Louisiana at Lafayette's mathematics department has been ranked in the top 100 in the nation by the National Science Foundation, and the computer science department is ranked in the top 60.

Contact Information

  • Address: 104 University Circle, Lafayette, LA 70504
  • Phone Number: (337) 482-1000