Utah State University

Utah State University Admissions and General School Information

Utah State University is located in the city of Logan and operates additional regional campuses and education centers throughout Utah. The university offers programs leading to certificates and associate's, bachelor's, master's and doctoral degrees.

General Information on Utah State University

Utah State University (USU) was founded in 1888 and is committed to space, land, water, and life enhancement research. It is located 81 miles northeast of Salt Lake City. The campus is located nearly a mile above sea level, and the university owns 7,000 acres of land statewide.

The school has 173 undergraduate degree programs and 133 graduate degree programs. The total number of enrolled students is over 23,000, and there are over 200 clubs in which students can participate. Some popular majors include aerospace engineering, elementary education and biology.

Admissions and Enrollment Information

Freshman applicants interested in admission into USU need to submit their official high school transcripts and ACT or SAT scores, complete an application form and pay an application fee. Transfer students are required to do the same and in addition must submit their college transcripts and meet the minimum GPA requirements. Applicants may fill out and submit the application forms online and also check their application status on the USU website.

Colleges at Utah State University

College of Agriculture

The university was originally founded as an agricultural college. USU calls agriculture the science of life, and the college's main focus is on subjects such as disease cures, earth conservation and biotechnology rather than the traditional ideas of farming and processing products. Students can earn certificates or an associate's, bachelor's or master's degree through the five departments of agricultural systems technology and education; animal, dairy and veterinary sciences; nutrition and food sciences; plants, soil and climate; and applied economics.

Jon M. Huntsman School of Business

The four departments at the Jon M. Huntsman School of Business offer courses at the bachelor's and master's degree levels. The school includes departments in economics and finance, management information systems, accountancy and management. Graduate degree programs include Master of Business Administration, Master of Human Resources and Master of Science in Economics programs. Undergraduate students can enroll in prep-courses to earn a certificate as a chartered financial analyst or complete a certification course on human resource management.

Emma Eccles Jones College of Education and Human Services

The college offers degree programs at the bachelor's, master's, specialist and doctoral degree levels. There are seven academic departments at the school, including psychology, human development, teacher education, learning sciences and deaf education departments. Degree programs include special education and rehabilitation, audiology and speech-language pathology. The College of Education and Human Services places a strong emphasis on improving the lives and the educational experience of all types of people.

College of Engineering

The College of Engineering has undergraduate and graduate programs that offer degrees at the bachelor's, master's and doctoral levels. An undergraduate can choose from five departments and two technology programs. Examples of graduate degrees available are a Master of Science in Mechanical Engineering and a Doctor of Philosophy in Engineering and Technology Education. Resources for engineering students include a 108,000-square-foot engineering building with computer labs, classrooms and student advising facilities.

College of Humanities, Arts and Social Sciences

This college is the largest at Utah State University. There are a wide range of disciplines taught through the college, including interior design, music, political science, journalism and history. There are a total of 14 departments offering 35 majors and 41 minors, as well as 17 master's degrees and two Ph.D. programs. The college is home to the Caine School of the Arts, which has theaters and museums and hosts the Utah Public Radio program.

College of Natural Resources

The mission behind this college is to educate students on healthy, sustainable options in order to improve ecosystems and human environments. The College of Natural Resources houses the departments of environment and society, watershed sciences and wildland resources, all of which have undergraduate and graduate degree programs. Examples of the undergraduate degrees offered through the college are a Bachelor of Science in Environmental Studies and a Bachelor of Science in Forestry.

College of Science

The six departments at the College of Science offer degree programs at the bachelor's, master's and doctoral levels. Some examples of degree programs include a Bachelor of Arts in Geology, a Bachelor of Science in Chemistry, a Master of Science in Physics and a Doctor of Philosophy in Toxicology. The college also has a pre-health studies program designed to prepare students who want to pursue a health-related profession.

School Contact Information

  • Address: Old Main Hill, Logan, Utah 84322
  • Phone Number: (435) 797-1000